Bongofish

Screen Tablet malarky => Heyaaaalpppp => Topic started by: TheGamer675 on January 16, 2018, 11:17:16 PM



Title: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on January 16, 2018, 11:17:16 PM
I have a Samsung LTN121AP05 display (salvaged from a HP Elite Book 2740P) with a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X I need a schematic for wiring it to the teensy and I also need a pinout for the connector. Also do I have to have a teensy? I have already looked on the wiki page it has it but not any useful info.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Pesho on January 20, 2018, 10:25:46 AM
If it's from a 2740p then it should be the standard serial pinout:

Pin 1 -> GND
Pin 13 -> VCC 3.3V
Pin 10 -> TX
Pin 9 -> RX

That's how it is for the 2730p screens i've tested. Since these are serial tablets, you need the Teensy in order to emulate a USB device and have the drivers work with it. You can use serial on Linux since the driver supports it, but for Windows you need to use Wacom's driver.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on February 11, 2018, 12:33:28 AM
Pesho Which one is the teensy and which one is the screen wires


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on February 11, 2018, 01:52:53 AM
Also I have a netduino like this one https://i.ytimg.com/vi/Wms0T8ogMww/mqdefault.jpg
Could I use that instead of a teensy?


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Pesho on February 11, 2018, 08:29:29 PM
Pesho Which one is the teensy and which one is the screen wires

The numbered ones are at the digitizer's connector, GND VCC TX and RX are on the Teensy's side. I reused the laptop's cable that already had the connector for the digitizer on one end, as seen HERE (http://forum.bongofish.co.uk/index.php?topic=2510.msg21937#msg21937). The board on the digitizer should have silkscreened markings next to the connector that indicate which is pin 1 and which is pin 14.

No, you can't use a Netduino, that's a completely different chip. The Waxbee firmware is designed for the ATmega32U4 chip which is on the Teensy, and a specific version of the board (2.0 with 3.3V logic). The chinese clones of the Teensy 2.0 work, but they need modification to convert them to 3.3V (you need to solder on a regulator). I think the 3.3V version of the Arduino Pro Micro was also proven to work after putting in the Teensy bootloader and firmware on it.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on February 12, 2018, 04:53:26 PM
I also have a HP TC4400 screen which I would MUCH rather use. Because it is larger! Do you happen to know the pinout for that? The digitzer model is: SU-025-C02

Also I have figured out that the sensor board for the pen is removable! So I don't need a LVDS converter! I have a few old monitors lying around that I disassembled and still work and have the controllers!  :D

So I could just put this behind the LCD of the monitor without needing one of those really expensive laptop LCD controller boards! For those of you that want to remove the sensor board PM me and I will give you instructions!


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Pesho on February 13, 2018, 10:09:16 AM
The pinout for the TC4400's digitizer is the same, i actually have one here and have tested it. It's the same for all 14pin serial digitizers, there are some that support USB directly but they are pretty rare. You can find the full info HERE (http://wiki.bongofish.co.uk/doku.php?id=bongofish:penenabled).

Yeah, the digitizer just sticks on the back, but i think the TC4400's screen is one of the best screens you can get for that size and format. It's AFFS so viewing angles are very good (important for a screen you'll be looking at from all sides). They don't make 12.1'' desktop monitors so i'm guessing whatever you use is going to be the wrong size. You're also going to have to mess about installing protective glass so it can be used with a pen - regular monitors don't have it, while the TC4400 screen does. An LVDS controller is 20-35$, it's not that expensive...


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on February 13, 2018, 03:14:45 PM
Would one of these serial to usb ttl things work? I think that I have heard that these work somehow  https://www.walmart.com/ip/1PC-USB-To-TTL-Debug-Serial-Port-Cable-For-3B-2B-COM-Port/683054955


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Pesho on February 13, 2018, 06:37:52 PM
As i already mentioned here, only in Linux. Also the page doesn't mention whether it's 5V or 3.3V. The digitizer works only with 3.3V.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on February 13, 2018, 07:26:09 PM
So this would technically work? I do not mind using linux  ;D

Also I could work out something for the 3.3v


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on February 13, 2018, 08:09:57 PM
Pesho how about one of these? https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA6706X93506&cm_re=serial_to_usb-_-9SIA6706X93506-_-Product


I would just mod the cable a little so it could connect to the digitizer!

Also I think I want to try USB so what would the pinout be from the tc4400 to usb?

Thanks


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Pesho on February 13, 2018, 10:38:37 PM
Pesho how about one of these? https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA6706X93506&cm_re=serial_to_usb-_-9SIA6706X93506-_-Product


I would just mod the cable a little so it could connect to the digitizer!

Also I think I want to try USB so what would the pinout be from the tc4400 to usb?

Thanks

NO, use this - https://www.ebay.com/itm/FT232RL-3-3V-5-5V-FTDI-USB-to-TTL-Serial-Adapter-Module-for-Arduino-Mini-Port-/381374421597

It has a jumper for selecting 3.3v, i've tested it. Are you planning to use it on Linux? Because i already said this method will not work on Windows. Even on Linux there is some set up involved where you need to make a startup script to initialize the tablet on the correct usbTTY port at startup, it's not "plug and play".

Also read what i wrote in my previous message - digitizers are either USB or Serial, not both. USB versions are rare, and the TC4400 is serial.

I strongly advise you to just get a chinese Teensy for 12$ and solder a 3.3v regulator on it.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on February 13, 2018, 11:18:08 PM
I have found a small working motherboard with a serial port! I will try to get the correct voltage and make a serial cable to connect to it. I think I already know the pinout..


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on February 14, 2018, 02:08:06 AM
I have also heard somewhere that I could use a sound card is that true? If so can someone tell me how?


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Pesho on February 18, 2018, 08:53:05 PM
No problem, sorry i wasn't able to reply the past few days. To answer the previous question - i've never heard of anyone using a soundcard, the old ones have a MIDI/Joystick port but i'm not sure if it can be used as a serial port.

I've looked at those Sympodium tablets before, even started a thread here awhile back. From what i've read they're a bit problematic to deal with - physically it's a Wacom DTF tablet, but the Hardware ID in the firmware is different, so the Wacom driver can't recognize it. It only works with the Sympodium driver which they say is pretty bad, but i haven't had any experience with it. I believe it works well on Linux except for the special function buttons on the bezel. I've been tempted to get one to play with since its only 15$ but shipping costs to my country and import charges make it unreasonably expensive.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on February 20, 2018, 03:20:12 AM
Is there pressure sensitivity?


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Pesho on February 20, 2018, 10:51:21 AM
Is there pressure sensitivity?

It doesn't support it, according to this thread (http://forum.tabletpcreview.com/threads/so-much-for-using-a-smart-sympodium-id250-as-a-wacom-cintiq-15x.36477/). If i had to guess, that's most likely from the terrible Sympodium driver, but it's hard to say without trying it first-hand.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on April 08, 2018, 05:58:36 PM
Alright so the sympodium did not work so I am opening back up this thread. I have this usb sim card reader and have heard people can use it for serial to usb.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Pesho on April 09, 2018, 08:03:31 PM
Just do it correctly this time, with a Teensy, and don't bother trying to make it work with random junk. It's literally 11$ for all the parts.

Chinese 10$ Teensy (https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Teensy-2-0-Teensy-USB-Development-Board/32857413855.html)

3.3V regulator, 90 cents for 50 (https://www.aliexpress.com/item/50pcs-XC6206P332MR-SOT23-XC6206P332-marking-662K-SOT-23-3-3V-0-5A-voltage-regulator-new-original/32820511499.html)

If you can't solder the regulator then you have to buy the expensive original 3.3V teensy, sorry.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on April 10, 2018, 06:19:32 PM
Not sure if I want to buy a teensy. If I do how would I install the drivers?


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on April 12, 2018, 01:23:04 AM
Ok I found one of those clone teensys and it has the same atmel chip for about $7 on ebay.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Pesho on April 13, 2018, 10:19:27 PM
Not sure if I want to buy a teensy. If I do how would I install the drivers?

Read all the other threads about it on the forum... Note again, you will have to make it work at 3.3v otherwise it may destroy the digitizer.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on April 15, 2018, 04:11:45 AM
Pesho I could also just have a separate power source right?

Also it is a pro micro clone but I think it will work. Like I said it has the same chip as the teensy.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on April 16, 2018, 09:22:28 PM
OK my pro micro clone just arrived. Plugged it in and installed the Aurduino IDE drivers!
Now I just need to find out how to get waxbee on this!


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Ertew on April 18, 2018, 12:20:41 AM
Hello.
You shouldn't run Aurduino IDE, it can't help You. However drivers for Pro Micro and AVRdude software (can be found inside Arduino directories) will help You a lot.
With new WaxBee releases You can generate Your own .hex file that should fit into Pro Micro flash along with stock bootloader. As I mentioned in different topic, You can use external programmer to upload hex file into Pro Micro or use stock bootloader that should work out of the box.
Check this: http://forum.bongofish.co.uk/index.php?topic=2556.msg22225#msg22225
First post (first page) shows how to create firmware file. Last 3 posts shows command to program Pro Micro using AVRdude. You need command-line-console (CMD) and location of AVRdude.exe to do this.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on April 18, 2018, 01:13:39 AM
Also if i have to use linux like pesho mentioned with serial to usb; i would happily do so.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Ertew on April 18, 2018, 01:29:02 AM
As I wrote. ProMicro comes with (ugly) bootloder. You can use that bootloader. You should:
- connect Pro Micro to USB port
- wait 10s
- grab spare wire and short two pads on the board: GND and RST. But it's not as simple. You should simulate button and do a double click within less than a second. That forces boart into bootloader mode.
- wait for drivers installation.
- find what COM port are assigned to Your board.
- on Windows open terminal and send command as acediac wrote on forum:
avrdude -v -patmega32u4 -cavr109 -P\\.\COM4 -b57600 -D -Uflash:w:gd-0405-r.hex:i
where "gd-0405-r.hex" is the name of the hex file and COM4 is Your COM port.
That should program Your board with generated firmware file.

btw, I need to place avrdude.exe, avrdude.conf and firmware.hex in same directory and enter that dir by the terminal.


Yes, You can use serial->USB converter and use old serial drivers. That works on Win XP or on Linux. I can help You with XP. For linux, please search on Your own (google doesn't hurt) or ask any Linux guy for help.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on April 18, 2018, 03:23:06 AM
As I wrote. ProMicro comes with (ugly) bootloder. You can use that bootloader. You should:
- connect Pro Micro to USB port
- wait 10s
- grab spare wire and short two pads on the board: GND and RST. But it's not as simple. You should simulate button and do a double click within less than a second. That forces boart into bootloader mode.
- wait for drivers installation.
- find what COM port are assigned to Your board.
- on Windows open terminal and send command as acediac wrote on forum:
avrdude -v -patmega32u4 -cavr109 -P\\.\COM4 -b57600 -D -Uflash:w:gd-0405-r.hex:i
where "gd-0405-r.hex" is the name of the hex file and COM4 is Your COM port.
That should program Your board with generated firmware file.
btw, I need to place avrdude.exe, avrdude.conf and firmware.hex in same directory and enter that dir by the terminal.


Yes, You can use serial->USB converter and use old serial drivers. That works on Win XP or on Linux. I can help You with XP. For linux, please search on Your own (google doesn't hurt) or ask any Linux guy for help.

One problem; when I try the command it says "avrdude: error: buffered memory access not supported. Maybe it isn't
a butterfly/AVR109 but a AVR910 device?"

Here is info it gave me when I hit enter:
avrdude: Version 5.10, compiled on Jan 19 2010 at 10:45:23
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

         System wide configuration file is "C:\WinAVR-20100110\bin\avrdude.conf"

         Using Port                    : \\.\COM9
         Using Programmer              : avr109
         avr910_devcode (avrdude.conf) : none
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 57600
         AVR Part                      : ATmega32U4
         Chip Erase delay              : 9000 us
         PAGEL                         : PD7
         BS2                           : PA0
         RESET disposition             : dedicated
         RETRY pulse                   : SCK
         serial program mode           : yes
         parallel program mode         : yes
         Timeout                       : 200
         StabDelay                     : 100
         CmdexeDelay                   : 25
         SyncLoops                     : 32
         ByteDelay                     : 0
         PollIndex                     : 3
         PollValue                     : 0x53
         Memory Detail                 :

                                  Block Poll               Page                       Polled
           Memory Type Mode Delay Size  Indx Paged  Size   Size #Pages MinW  MaxW   ReadBack
           ----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
           eeprom        65    10     8    0 no       1024    8      0  9000  9000 0x00 0x00
           flash         65     6   128    0 yes     32768  128    256  4500  4500 0x00 0x00
           lfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  9000  9000 0x00 0x00
           hfuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  9000  9000 0x00 0x00
           efuse          0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  9000  9000 0x00 0x00
           lock           0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0  9000  9000 0x00 0x00
           calibration    0     0     0    0 no          1    0      0     0     0 0x00 0x00
           signature      0     0     0    0 no          3    0      0     0     0 0x00 0x00

         Programmer Type : avr910
         Description     : Atmel AppNote AVR109 Boot Loader

Connecting to programmer: .
Found programmer: Id = "@ e"; type =
    Software Version = D. ; Hardware Version = ≡.∩
avrdude: error: buffered memory access not supported. Maybe it isn't
a butterfly/AVR109 but a AVR910 device?


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: Ertew on April 18, 2018, 11:46:17 PM
Open Arduino IDE, grab any example sketch (blinking one) and upload it to Your board.
If You cannot do that, You're doing it wrong or have broken board. Both problems cannot be resolved by me remotely.
If You have no problems with writing any example sketch, turn on "verbose mode" and upload it again. You'll able to copy whole command from ardiuno IDE console and run it from terminal window.

If that way works, then use hex file generated by WaxBee rather than one generated by Arduino compiler.


Title: Re: Need a schematic and pin out for a Wacom SU5E-12W32AS-01X
Post by: TheGamer675 on April 19, 2018, 12:03:46 AM
Open Arduino IDE, grab any example sketch (blinking one) and upload it to Your board.
If You cannot do that, You're doing it wrong or have broken board. Both problems cannot be resolved by me remotely.
If You have no problems with writing any example sketch, turn on "verbose mode" and upload it again. You'll able to copy whole command from ardiuno IDE console and run it from terminal window.

If that way works, then use hex file generated by WaxBee rather than one generated by Arduino compiler.

How do I use the hex file?