Bongofish
December 14, 2019, 04:54:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Has anyone thought of putting a laptop backing?  (Read 8302 times)
e.Bond
New Poster

View Profile
« on: January 20, 2008, 05:37:22 PM »

Hey guys, well I'm new to this whole thing, and I'm planning on building a DIY Cintiq thanks to all the great people and stuff on this forum. But I have a question, I think maybe after I'm done with the Cintiq, I'm going to add a laptop backing onto it, so it is a computer all in itself and then I can take it anywhere...What do you think?

1. more question...
If I do the laptop backing can I still plug it into my desktop and use it as a normal tablet, or no, because its actually a computer?
AndreZX

Why buy today what you could build tomorrow?

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 05:44:14 PM »

Here's the basic breakdown... if you go with a normal sim-tiq first and then decide to make it a laptop unit, you're going to have to buy an LVDS controller to convert the laptop's video signal to either VGA or DVI for your monitor. These are usually one or two hundred dollars, and you have to make sure you get the right kind for your specific laptop.

If you started with a laptop, though, you could probably just use the the screen from the laptop itself and build around that so you wouldn't need a video convertor.

I'd be worried about interference from the laptop though. Those things are a lot of powerful electronics packed into a tiny box. I think somebody managed to build the sensor from a 6x8 wacom into the screen of a laptop, so you might want to check that out.
Drewid
Administrator

wielder of electric crayons

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 05:45:55 PM »