Bongofish
December 07, 2019, 05:09:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Has anyone thought of putting a laptop backing?  (Read 8299 times)
Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2008, 06:08:29 AM »

Really? Is there anyway to actually tell without buying one?
A little friend called google.

Yeah, search model, if you see penabled then its wacom.

And its not Graphire, its actually the old school UD Digitizer technology.
But me too, I do not notice a difference at all.

Unless you are a REDICULOUSLY serious, like craaaazy, then you don't really need anything better.
Drew is a game designer and he uses a UD.
I'm sure you wouldn't really notice a difference.
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
Mgilbride
Full Member
***
Posts: 65


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2008, 09:07:35 AM »

I also remember some talk here or somewhere about it being hard or impossible to get the pressure sensitivity you want with a tablet with Wacom tech in it. You can download new drivers from wacom but you can't get the 512 or 1024 levels of p-sensitivity you may be looking for. And used tablets are a bit on the weak side as far as horsepower and then you have to deal with the whole flip the screen layout you get in tablet mode. Or does it do that in photoshop and painter? I don't know, never tried it.
Logged
70jamz
Guest
« Reply #17 on: April 03, 2008, 04:41:44 PM »

okay

this site is starting to freak me out alitte

as i was thinking, "hey, i wonder if i could use a laptop screen for my build" 

i saw this thread..... Shocked

its like you guys are reading my brainwaves thru my fingertips....Tongue
Logged
Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: April 03, 2008, 05:29:58 PM »

okay

this site is starting to freak me out alitte

as i was thinking, "hey, i wonder if i could use a laptop screen for my build" 

i saw this thread..... Shocked

its like you guys are reading my brainwaves thru my fingertips....Tongue
To quote a famous man (Drew)

One of us, One of us...
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
Geo
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 136



View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2008, 09:08:33 PM »

hmmm can you not just network your 2 computers and run VNC or some of them remote control applications to use the tablet laptop to control desktop?  It might be kind of slow i have not tested it.

If not you can do a crazy ass way of hacking it together....  by taking the tablet splitting the usb cable so one goes to laptop one goes to a usb out (without the power cables wired up) now you run usb out to a usb to usb cable and plug into desktop. Now for video you buy an external usb video card (or tuner) and run from the desktop to the laptop :S software will open a window and thats what you can draw on since 2 screens should show same sutff (BUT!!!!!!! 1.video will be slow 2.screen could be off 3. your desktop will need a tv out port )

The second way is a bit retarded but should work. the thing about tablet pcs (the slate style) tend to cost a lot more for a lot less power than a laptop and don't always have usb ports (for to hook tablet too) and video card could be a little shitty
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!