Bongofish
December 11, 2019, 01:29:19 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: What is the name of this cable?  (Read 8464 times)
Rayall
Full Member
***
Posts: 117


View Profile
« on: January 30, 2008, 05:02:16 PM »

Please, I need to get a longer one if possible. At least I know that it's a 20 pin, but that's it.  Undecided


* mactablet3.jpg (35.12 KB, 640x480 - viewed 296 times.)
Logged
AndreZX
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 412


Why buy today what you could build tomorrow?


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2008, 06:56:28 PM »

Good luck with that one. The connector's the most important part. If you can find something to match that, you should be able to use it no problem.

If you can't, you may have to extend each of those 20 wires yourself. It's actually not that hard, should take less than an hour, but it's something you definitely don't want to screw up.
Logged
Rayall
Full Member
***
Posts: 117


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 07:33:38 PM »

Could this be it (mine might just be an older model):

http://www.amazon.com/Cable-ATX-Power-Supply-Ext/dp/B000V6Y40U/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1201717829&sr=1-16

I could always call Apple just to confirm I guess if nobody knows. I'm nervous about fooling with the wires though.
Logged
Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2008, 09:40:01 PM »

No its definitely not that cable.

Thats for a pc power supply.

You probably going to have to make your own, or go to radioshack, I believe they will do it for you, but it is going to be expensive.
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2008, 10:36:20 PM »

Do you have a close up on the end of the cable?
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
AmbiDextrose
Full Member
***
Posts: 74


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2008, 11:24:14 PM »

If this connects to the back of the LCD panel then this is called the LVDS cable (for Low Voltage, Differential Signaling) and is used to carry the video signals from the video controller to the LCD panel. If you can find the spec sheet for your LCD panel (which looks to be a Samsung LTN121X1-L02), it should contain information regarding the connector type (for the LCD), the matching connector (for the LVDS cable) and the pin configuration for the connectors. Samsung typically use JAE-style flat connectors which can be purchased off Mouser (www.mouser.com) or any reputable electronics component store.

-UPDATE-

Did a quick check via Google and found a comparable LDC (i.e., Samsung LTN121XJ-L02- same family of LCD panels) via the following link:

http://www.beyondinfinite.com/lcd/Library/Samsung/LTN121XJ-L02.pdf

The panel uses actually uses a HIROSE DF-19L20P-1H connector. You can probably use Google to find a reseller for this connector. From there, you can probably find the MATING connector for the cable.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2008, 11:42:08 PM by AmbiDextrose » Logged
Chems
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 675

He Who Dares Draws on a DIY Cintiq


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2008, 12:22:39 AM »

I have the same cable you have there in my garage. You could chop an connect to extend if thats any help to you?
Logged

Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2008, 07:16:47 PM »

Ambidextrose strikes again !   Grin
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
Rayall
Full Member
***
Posts: 117


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2008, 07:26:38 PM »

Thanks guys!  Smiley

I will probably just get a Graphire, which I actually found out is smaller then the Bamboo (I compared it with an old Graphire I had at home that had torn wires, so it wasn't usable).

I will get a larger tablet when I buy the monitor.
Logged
Chems
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 675

He Who Dares Draws on a DIY Cintiq


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2008, 11:52:59 PM »

Torn wires, repair that fool!

What I mean to say, thats repairable.
Logged

Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2008, 01:10:04 AM »

Torn wires, repair that fool!

What I mean to say, thats repairable.
Yeah.

YOU PM'D ME ASKING IF YOU COULD!!

I said yes....


Cmon! simple twist and tape. No soldering needed even.
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
Chems
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 675

He Who Dares Draws on a DIY Cintiq


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2008, 01:15:00 AM »

Switz is the person to ask about repairing stuff, hes broken every component hes sourced yet. I dont know why you dont just buy them broken to start with an save yourself the trouble!
Logged

Rayall
Full Member
***
Posts: 117


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 01, 2008, 02:00:00 AM »

 Grin

Well, here's the problem.

No pen, I don't know what happened to it (and they are exensive on ebay and other sites). And the wires weren't connected at all, which made me very nervous because they were small. When I get a new Graphire on Ebay (probably) I will have to open it to make sure the wires are okay, then if they are frayed I can probably use electrical tape. Maybe I should do that anyway, to make sure it doesn't happen again? The new Bamboo is put together very well, it just has a cable you put in. No loose wires or anything.
Logged
Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 01, 2008, 03:06:21 AM »

Switz is the person to ask about repairing stuff, hes broken every component hes sourced yet. I dont know why you dont just buy them broken to start with an save yourself the trouble!
LOL
Its true xD
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
Rayall
Full Member
***
Posts: 117


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2008, 07:32:23 AM »

I have the same cable you have there in my garage. You could chop an connect to extend if thats any help to you?

Would you be able to part with it, I could use one now?  Wink
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!