Bongofish
December 12, 2017, 09:22:22 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Extend Inverter Wires?  (Read 9362 times)
colinus
Full Member
***
Posts: 103


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2008, 06:24:11 PM »

Ok. I've now done it successfully too. Spliced and soldered wires and then taped the crap out of them. Works great. Thanks for the input everyone.  Grin

Hi!
How long did you have extended your CCFL wires? (initial length / new length)?
I'm on this phase now and I have some problems... (see my build log).

Thks!
Logged

Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2008, 06:34:49 PM »

I extended mine about a foot.  I used some wire from old ccfls, so maybe thats why?
They are made specifically to withstand a large current.
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
AdrianEvans
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 33


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: March 13, 2008, 12:45:05 PM »

mine were 15cm and I made them 25cm with no real problems. I had originally made them 60cm long and this caused serious problems. not enough juice getting to the bulbs.
Logged
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2285


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: June 13, 2008, 01:21:10 PM »

Here's a good idea:

Personally with my first screen attempt, I've successfully used rc model cables, the ones with silicon insulation rated to high amperage. They work perfectly.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!