Bongofish
December 09, 2019, 01:32:42 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can attach photos hosted by the forum rather than using an external image hosting site, this means they will stay forever and not disappear after a year or two.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: FCC cables madatory?  (Read 3522 times)
elin
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 61



View Profile
« on: August 05, 2008, 03:46:16 AM »

I noticed nearly everyone has used FCC cables to extend connection from the lcd screen to the controller boards. Is this necessary? I just want to make sure that there inst room to put the wacom board between the lcd screen and the lcd board.

monitor is the 1503fp

Logged
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2008, 01:19:55 PM »

It seems necessary if you want to move the monitor boards to under the back of the sensor board.   I'm pretty sure the screen wouldn't fit anywhere sensible by just folding the existing FFCs over the edge.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
elin
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 61



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2008, 12:56:28 AM »

So will I need 2 sets of 40 pin connectors and .5 mm pitch cables?

http://www.diy-beamer.com/EN/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=92
Logged
elin
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 61



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2008, 01:02:29 AM »

you also wrote "thin card as an insulator". what's a thin card, and what was it insulating? was it between the wacom board and the lcd?
Logged
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2008, 01:28:47 PM »

The thin card was literally a thin piece of plain white card.  between the wacom shielding and the cards underneath it.  I didn't want any of the sharper blobs of solder grounding themselves by scratching through the laquer to the shielding.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
elin
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 61



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2008, 03:38:27 PM »

Thanks!

What about the connection and cables in the link? Do I need 2 of these?

http://www.diy-beamer.com/EN/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=92
« Last Edit: August 07, 2008, 04:21:54 PM by elin » Logged
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2008, 07:59:12 AM »

You'll need to strip the monitor to see, There are a couple of different revisions of the hardware that use different connections.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
elin
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 61



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2008, 08:35:45 AM »

ah. Okay, a stripping we will go.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!