Bongofish
January 18, 2020, 07:17:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can attach photos hosted by the forum rather than using an external image hosting site, this means they will stay forever and not disappear after a year or two.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Macbook Pro Cintiq  (Read 13830 times)
jo-shadow
« on: August 04, 2009, 04:41:03 AM »

Hey there,

I'm an Art/CompSci student and a year or so ago I first ran into the original DIY Cintiq and recently while gawking at it again I discovered these forums.
I have been very impressed with some of the builds on here, especially Wei's iTab.

I really like the idea of using an existing laptop with the tablet as an all-in-one device.

I own an old 1.87 Ghz first-Gen 15' Macbook Pro Wich I've had to take it apart many many times. i've replaced or upgraded: Both fans, Ram chips, HardDrive (multiple times) and even a cracked screen. Because of this a few of the screw-holds broke from the frame and though the 'book does hold together, I certainly do not feel comfortable moving it around as much as before.

I do now have a new laptop but still use my old Macbook pro as a backup computer.
I want a Cintiq 12WX or better yet an Axitron ModBook pro (*drool*) but they are far (in the case of the ModBook pro far, far, far) too expensive for my budget at the moment and so the possibility of making one for the fraction of the price, and even breathing some new life into my old laptop at the same time is a tantalizing one indeed.

So basically what I want to do is use the guts and screen of my Macbook pro, combine them with a large Wacom tablet, either a 9x12 intuos3 or a 8x12.8 intuos4, and voila, MacBook pro Tablet.

The easiest way would probably be detaching the macbook pro's screen and removing the frame around it, then placing it onto the back of the existing case.