test1
June 29, 2017, 08:10:04 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can attach photos hosted by the forum rather than using an external image hosting site, this means they will stay forever and not disappear after a year or two.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cellofaan's stuff  (Read 12085 times)
cellofaan

View Profile
« on: April 02, 2010, 12:51:34 PM »

Changed the title so it's now more of a collection of stuff rather than having to make a new thread for everything.

While my build is not exactly finished yet, and it hardly contributed to this project, I have used it a tiny little bit for one of the images.

* kastje.jpg (126.62 KB. 700x430 - viewed 740 times.)

It's is a design for a bookcase I made for one of my courses. I'm afraid all the text in the booklet is Dutch, but I'll give a short summary on the whats and hows.

As I am an architecture student, I designed as if a building, and presented it as an architectural design, using plans, elevations, sections, and detailing.
The design process resembles an architectural design process as well, though the program of requirements of a bookcase is much simpler than a building, leaving time to actually make the drawings that can be used to build it.

The bookcase is inspired by the Unite d' habitation by le corbusier, and the shelves follow a rhythm based on Take Five, by Dave Brubeck, translated into a physical and chromatic form, which can be likened to the facade of the monastery of La Tourette, (also by Le Corbu, but the facade I'm referring to was actually designde by Iannis Xenakis).

All dimensions are based on the fibonacci sequence, as that turned out to be vsually pleasing, and easy to work with.

There's a lot more to it, but those are the key aspects on the design, and the main focus in the booklet as well.

http://issuu.com/cellofaan/docs/take_five