Bongofish
December 06, 2019, 03:08:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Great 15" screen (no FFC, External power)  (Read 6407 times)
BHCS
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« on: February 28, 2010, 04:08:32 PM »

wow,

i have been searching around for an hour or so and stumbled upon the benQ FP547,
it has no FFC issues, and an external power brick.

sound good?
well, there are a few on ebay for £29!
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2010, 05:03:25 PM »

15inch  1024x768  -- pretty standard.  I wonder what is the LCD Panel they put inside.
Logged
BHCS
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2010, 05:48:47 PM »

15inch  1024x768  -- pretty standard.  I wonder what is the LCD Panel they put inside.
i bought one anyway,
no FFC to mess with, and external power brick = more space Cheesy
Logged
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2010, 07:15:07 PM »

Benq have a reputation (on diy projector forums) of being easy to strip and work with.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
cellofaan
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 240


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2010, 09:46:50 PM »

Benq have a reputation (on diy projector forums) of being easy to strip and work with.
Didn't know that? But good info for future builds.



Having no ffc saves the extension kit, which is good.
Logged
BHCS
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2010, 09:53:21 PM »

Benq have a reputation (on diy projector forums) of being easy to strip and work with.
Didn't know that? But good info for future builds.



Having no ffc saves the extension kit, which is good.
all good to me Smiley
still, i missed out buying the right tablet and now it seems i may need to pay tripple what i was going to pay......
any ideas?
Logged
cellofaan
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 240


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2010, 10:14:16 PM »

How about item 190375737793 on the bay? 20 hours remaining
Might want to try craigslist too.

Where are you located? If you're in Europe, I can keep an eye on the Dutch sites for you.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2010, 10:20:51 PM by cellofaan » Logged
BHCS
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2010, 12:37:20 AM »

How about item 190375737793 on the bay? 20 hours remaining
Might want to try craigslist too.

Where are you located? If you're in Europe, I can keep an eye on the Dutch sites for you.
thanks!
but i worry about the postage, people being annoyed and also if they have to be plugged in it may cause problems Sad

in UK here.
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2010, 01:33:02 AM »

To be plugged in?   Are you saying that the guy at the customs will actually take out the device from the box and try to power it up??   Huh

Logged
BHCS
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2010, 12:50:32 PM »

To be plugged in?   Are you saying that the guy at the customs will actually take out the device from the box and try to power it up??   Huh


No?
Can't use a us plug in the uk.
The old tablets needto be plugged into a socket.
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2010, 02:40:12 PM »

Oh I see -- but I would believe that most of the electronic devices nowadays support a wide range of voltage and frequency range -- 110-240v 50/60Hz -- Am I right?  Just have to get a proper UK power cable, no?
Logged
Captaingerbear
New Poster
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2010, 05:11:48 AM »

Oh this sounds great. I'm gonna try one of these bad boys and I think I'll look for this kind of monitor.
Logged
two7unsuited
New Poster
*
Posts: 14


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2010, 07:24:45 AM »

the new acer 120hz 23.6 in has no side panel at all, so no ffc.....also the dell 2001fp has no side panel, but the acyrlic is 3 ccfls thick so too think. the dell 1701 fp is great, there are at least 2 models of insides, one with a longish ffc, and one with a short ffc,(no indication on outside of moniter) the long one will extend enough for a tablet. both dells use external power bricks!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!