Bongofish
December 06, 2019, 02:21:19 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Building a "Mini" Cintique. Oh, and I'm a newbie.  (Read 8640 times)
DeanmodPC
New Poster

View Profile
« on: September 05, 2010, 07:18:40 AM »

Alright, I think it's worth mentioning that I haven't done a mod before with LCD as part of it.

To be clear, this is a two part question

First off, I had a portable DVD player that puked on me because one of its ribbon cables ripped. There is still a fully intact 30 pin ribbon cable coming off of it as well as the backlighting cables that run together in that plastic insert. I have already cracked open the casing and gotten the screen apart, and then separated the light and the actual screen, careful to keep the thin plastic inserts that apparently are needed to keep the screen functioning. My question  numero uno, is: can I use the LCD controller kit from Tabletmod.com alongside my small bamboo tablet to get a mini mini cintique?

My second question is, if the first one doesn't work out, I'd like to get the "Bamboo Fun" off of eBay.

coupled with this screen

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-10-1-LCD-SCREEN-HP-MINI-110-SERIES-NETBOOK-/190439757397?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c57181655#ht_1867wt_911

Now, my second question is: Will this work?

cellofaan

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2010, 11:02:38 AM »

Welcome!

You're unlikely to be able to use the lvds controller from tabletmod, as they are programmed for screens with specific specs. Your screen is different, so it probably won't work.
The same applies for the ebay screen, you'll need an lvds controller kit for it.