Bongofish
November 14, 2019, 05:01:08 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
Author Topic: Starting a portable 6x8 Intuos 3 build (information gathering stage)  (Read 27828 times)
jpanichella

View Profile
« on: October 14, 2010, 05:49:42 PM »

Hey guys,

First a quick introduction. My name is Jon and I'm an industrial design student at the University of Cincinnati. I recently started an internship that gave me full access to a large Wacom Cintiq and I'm absolutely hooked. I have an Intuos3 6x8 (A5) tablet I never got comfortable using due to the disconnect between the tablet and the screen, but after finding your website and doing some thinking, I'm ready to get this project off the ground.

Firstly, I need to figure out what screen I'm going to get. I noticed that tabletmod.com has a 10.6" driver for Intuos 4 mediums, but I believe those tablets are a different size than what I have. I don't have the tablet right in front of me, but the dimensions from the wiki are 203.2mm x 152.4mm. So, which screen/driver would be a good launching point for this project?

I was planning on making this thing as small as possible WITHOUT decasing the wacom tablet I have. I have a crazy idea to use a cookie sheet and cover it with a piece of plexiglass. Something kind of like this.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Fox-Run-Craftsmen-Jelly-Roll-Pan/15007828?findingMethod=rr

It's fairly shallow and if I placed the boards to the side of the tablet I could get away with a thinner overall profile.

But the first step would be to get the right parts together so I can have some concrete dimensions to work from when I start worrying about the case.

I appreciate all the help guys
bernard
Administrator

pato mania

View Profile