test1
March 30, 2017, 03:34:27 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can attach photos hosted by the forum rather than using an external image hosting site, this means they will stay forever and not disappear after a year or two.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: Converting Wacom GD-0912-R from Serial to USB  (Read 28628 times)
benoitb
New Poster
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2012, 05:52:50 PM »

Thanks for your help Smiley I was a bit worried I would have stupidly destroyed my tablet.

Have you grounded the two serial handshake signals? I do not see clearly on the picture.  your green wire appears to go on the wrong pad -- but again, I do not see clearly on the picture.

EDIT: I saw your picture directly from the hosting site, connections appears ok.
Yes I did the grounding on those 2 points and checked with a multimeter that the points were grounded and also that the pins 10 and 13 are not connected.

There are ways to test this.  

#1- If you have Windows 7 64 bits, you can try my wacom hid dump tool (download from waxbee site) -- it will decode and output the packets sent as intuos2. That's a way to see if the tablet is sending anything to Windows.
#2- You can use hidlisten along with the "debug" version of the template for the GD-x. See what it outputs. Look up the forum to find how to use (and find) those tools.  
#3- The next step would be to flash the virtual serial port and use a tool like RealTerm. (again look up the forum to find examples and how-tos)

#1
This is what I get:
Quote
USB devices with VendorId = 0x056A (Wacom):
index: 0
index: 1
vid: 0x056A, pid: 0x0043
2: Wacom Intuos2 9x12 (ProductId = 0x0043)

#2
And with HIDListen, holding the pen above the surface of the tablet for a fraction of second.
Quote
Waiting for device:
Listening:

RS: 80 00 78 78 00 78 00
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)F8 00
RS: (?!)80 00
RS: (?!)80 00 00
RS: (?!)F8 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)F8 78 78 00 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80 00 78 00 00 00 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80 78 78 00 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80 00 00
RS: (?!)80 00 00
RS: (?!)80 00 78 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80 00 78 00 78 00
RS: (?!)80 00 78
RS: (?!)F8 00 00
RS: (?!)80 00 78 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)F8 00
RS: (?!)80 00 78 00 00 00
RS: (?!)80 00 78 78
RS: (?!)80 78 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80 00
RS: (?!)80 00
RS: (?!)F8 78 00 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)F8
RS: (?!)F8 78 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80 00
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)F8 00 00 00
RS: (?!)80 00 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)F8
RS: (?!)F8 78
RS: (?!)F8 00
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)80 00 78 00 78 78 00 78
RS: (?!)80 00 78
RS: (?!)80
RS: (?!)F8
RS: (?!)F8 78 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00(*!)

#3
I don't really know what I should do for now with the virtual serial port. I'm going to read the other posts.

Overall, good news, aren't they ? It seems like the driver finds the tablet and the tablet sends data when I use the pen or the mouse.

By the way, I used waxbee-0-11c.zip to flash the firmware.
When you flash the debug firmware, it doesn't remove the waxbee firmware ?
« Last Edit: June 27, 2012, 06:18:40 PM by benoitb » Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2584


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2012, 02:41:16 AM »

#1 is not looking good - there is no activity reported. This is confirmed in #2...

The data in #2 is dead wrong. Looks like a misconfiguration like the serial port baud rate (speed) or a bad connection (pin is floating?). Please redo #2 but connect the usb (teensy) -after- starting hidlisten to get the startup messages. You missed them it seems?

When you program (flash) the teensy, it always replace the whole thing on the teensy.  You can always reflash back anything. I've done that hundreds of times. The template (along with the template parameters that you can edit) also get flashed as part of the firmware.

A .hex file represents a firmware that can be flashed. For the virtual com port .hex in the download section you can flash it using prjc.com tool (teensy loader).
Logged
benoitb
New Poster
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2012, 07:15:41 PM »

Sorry about the time gap before I answered.

I posted here on youtube a recording of me redoing step #2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fRH9xp0sCTs&feature=youtu.be

Here is a screenshot of the part you requested:
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2584


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2012, 12:51:03 AM »

Looks like the serial is correctly connected... at least enough to make it talk through the initialization since we are seeing the proper version string coming from the tablet.

One detail I am aware is that this first portion gets through even if the serial handshake signals are wrongly connected or floating (not connected).

Next step is to fiddle with the virtual serial port and capture the data sent by the tablet. We need to understand what's wrong!   Btw i am away for 3 weeks, i might not answer if i don't have internet access.
Logged
Attangemonk
New Poster
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: October 14, 2012, 11:24:40 PM »

Hdd that problem too with a gd 1212 R 00, i switched to 19200 during operation and now it seems to work
Logged
henkul
New Poster
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: January 06, 2013, 12:50:27 PM »

This is my second conversion. The first is at http://forum.bongofish.co.uk/index.php?topic=2241.msg17893#msg17893

This GD-0912 is working at 19200, not working at 38400.

Waiting for device:....
Listening:
WaxBee 0.12a -- bzz! bzz!
Serial/ADB tablet to USB converter.
 slaveXMax:30480 slaveYMax:24060 usbXMax:16704 usbYMax:12064
protocol5_serial::init()
~#GD-0912-R00,V1.2-7
Serial Tablet - GD-0912-R00,V1.2-7
Intuos

I have tried to put the Teensy inside the box


* teensy_060113.jpg (287.45 KB. 1799x1136 - viewed 561 times.)


This was not working. The wires was squeezed or the reset button was pressed all the time or ..? When I opened the box everything was working again.

I found http://forum.bongofish.co.uk/index.php?topic=1928.msg16707#msg16707

from an XD 0608, it seems to have more space but I will give it a try.

 

Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2584


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: January 06, 2013, 04:20:18 PM »

Was it shorting?  It appears to be directly against the Wacom board!   Yes, if the reset button is held down, it won't work, when you close the case, it was maybe creating a pressure (bad!).  Using a drill, make a round hole big enough for the reset button (hopefully nothing crucial is on the wacom board at this location!

When I put Teensy inside stuff, I try to have a way to press the reset button for reprogramming purposes.

This version is 1.2-7  -- and both tablets work at 19200 (?)  Hum.  Maybe *all* GD board uses this speed afterall? I would have to re-check mine again. (one day...)
Logged
hermanvereycken
New Poster
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: October 08, 2013, 09:01:51 PM »

Hi Guys!

via via i found this thread to get my wacom intuos2 working again, so i immediately bought me a teensy2.0. really looks like a nice and simple arduino kit.

my mod is not as clean as the others i have seen in this thread and i fully understand your warning notice at the beginning of the thread.

anyhow, i believe i have hooked up the teensy correctly and tested with the teensy USB2serial project that is in the arduino software development kit.

if i check the serial term, i see that there is communication (also via real-term) but it looks like gibberish

when i load the GD 0912 R (either 9x12 or 12x18 and even debug) template, i dont see any commonucation on the wacom hid dump.

how can i make sure that the data sent by the tablet is correctly interpreted ?

i dont know where to check for the 'bzz! bzz!" signs of the waxbee rom, because once i have loaded waxbee on the teensy, i can no longer connect to com9 in my realterm.

many thanks in advance for this great project!

H
Logged
hermanvereycken
New Poster
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: October 08, 2013, 09:30:05 PM »

some pics (sorry, i dont have a hosting)


* photo-serialnr-resize.jpg (220.25 KB. 816x612 - viewed 299 times.)
serial nr

* mod-pcb-resize.jpg (379.22 KB. 975x732 - viewed 387 times.)
wacom pcb mod

* photo-teensy-resize.jpg (211.41 KB. 816x612 - viewed 363 times.)
teensy 2.0 connection

* teensy-usb2serial on wacom.PNG (14.73 KB. 1537x258 - viewed 296 times.)
usb2serial communication sniffer

« Last Edit: October 10, 2013, 08:42:42 PM by hermanvereycken » Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2584


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2013, 01:52:44 PM »

- Your mod looks good. I did not look if it was all correctly connected, but it looks fine at first glance.

- Oh wait, the model of this board is GD-0912-R00 -- This is a "GD" board! Intuos2 models starts with letters "XD".  Intuos1 models starts with "GD".  You have an Intuos (1) board, not Intuos2. Make sure you pick the good template!!!

- Debug templates work with the hid_listen tool ( http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/hid_listen.html ) -- this is not using serial COMx ports at all, so it is normal it is not going to work with RealTerm/TeraTerm/Putty.  I would recommend that you start with checking on the hid_listen output before digging with a virtual serial port (COMx). NOTE: Always start hid_listen *before* plugging in the USB port to catch the first messages.  Copy them here in the thread.

- In case you want to dig more with virtual serial COMx port, (you need to understand the underlying protocol), you can also try to use my tweaked version of the virtual serial port instead of the one from PRJC.com (go to download section of WaxBee project to grab the .hex file).  NOTE: You have to setup the good baud rate.  There are only 3 speeds that Wacom serial tablets uses: 9600, 19200 or 38400. Some tablets uses 2 speeds -- one to start with and then you can send a command to make the tablet talk to a higher speed.


Logged
hermanvereycken
New Poster
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: October 09, 2013, 10:05:04 PM »

Hey Bernard, thx for the quick reply!

i downloaded the hid_listen from the PJRC site and here is what i got

two attempts using the GD 0912 R debug template


however, when i load the GD 0912 R 9x12 template, linux discovers a device XD-0912-U

Code:
[ 1061.852099] usb 2-1: new full-speed USB device number 3 using uhci_hcd
[ 1062.243138] usb 2-1: New USB device found, idVendor=056a, idProduct=0043
[ 1062.243148] usb 2-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[ 1062.243156] usb 2-1: Product: XD-0912-U - WaxBee emulation
[ 1062.243163] usb 2-1: Manufacturer: WACOM
[ 1062.245405] input: Wacom Intuos2 9x12 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb2/2-1/2-1:1.0/input/input8

as such, i'm a bit confused on which template to use...

EDIT....

if i understand the waxbee template system correctly, by loading the GD 0912 R 9x12 template, the teensy will emulate an XD-0912-U Intuos2 device, so the operating system is fooled in a way. i'll try to get it working in windows first before i move to linux then

* teensy-hid listen on wacom.PNG (61.56 KB. 670x787 - viewed 326 times.)


* teensy-hid listen on wacom-2.PNG (23.63 KB, 670x607 - viewed 323 times.)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2013, 08:15:41 PM by hermanvereycken » Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2584


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: October 10, 2013, 01:24:02 AM »

Yes -- you are getting it I think. Typically in WaxBee we emulate Intuos2 (XD-xxxxx).  There is no need to match your real tablet to what it is emulating. That's the point actually, as most of the serial tablets do not have a USB equivalent!! Only the Intuos tablets have a USB equivalent. In the case of the Intuos1, it is very close to Intuos2 so there is little need to emulate a USB Intuos1. We picked Intuos2 because it had lots of features and the USB version was available for relatively cheap in aftermarket to analyse it.

Linux or Windows it does not really matter. It is true that it was mostly tested in Windows, so you have better chances with Windows.  Caveat with Windows: The Intuos2, last time I checked, was not supported in recent Windows versions.   That is why we started emulating an Intuos5 (which works but is not very stable).

Looking at the two trace outputs: now that's weird!  BTW, you know you can always upload pictures right here in this forum. (Click on Additional Options).

The one with giberrish is really weird -- normally it does not output stuff like that. Not sure what went wrong there.  And for the other one, clearly the bytes are wrong too (but at least the debug messages make sense, it is not gibberish).

Okay -- I would suggest that you pick the "GD-0912-R to Intuos2 9x12.tmpl.txt" template (like you already did I think) but then modify it (using the WaxBeeConfig tool) so the "Normal" baud rate is set to 19200 instead of 38400 (leave the initial to 9600).   

If that does not work, try again the debug template+hid_tool and pick "GD-0912-R Debug.tmpl.txt" but again, modify it so the "Normal" baud rate is set to 19200 baud instead of 38400 (leave initial baud rate to 9600).  I think some older GD boards run at 19200. It might be what you are experiencing.
Logged
hermanvereycken
New Poster
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: October 10, 2013, 08:13:45 PM »

yeps! 19200 works like a charm! thx a lot!

ps, thx for the tip of the upload feature, i will upload the imgs so that others are maybe served by it aswell!

cheers to the lot of you!

H
Logged
hermanvereycken
New Poster
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: October 23, 2013, 05:41:27 PM »

Bernard,

i've quickly skimmed the forum to understand a bit better some glitches i'm witnessing on my mod. i haven't been able to find something similar to my case.

there are two types of glitches i experience.

1) brief pen pressure at 100% (causes unwanted clicks in menu's/ icons when hovering, or pencil dots in the image)
2) while applying pressure, the pen slips(offsetted) about 1 inch downward (or upward i think) on the Y axis

I've been using the pen now mainly for sketching, so an occasional slip is not an issue, but for finer work, its a bit cumbersome.

are these side effects been witnessed on other mods as well?

H.
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2584


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: October 23, 2013, 08:30:56 PM »

hum. strange stuff.  I think the only way to find out for you is to use the debug output.  See what is happening under the hood. 

The main question is:  does these glitches coming from the pen or board  or really WaxBee has an issue or maybe we could find a way to workaround it with a patch in WaxBee (skip when something is seems "out-of-whack").

B.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!