Bongofish
December 16, 2019, 08:36:33 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can attach photos hosted by the forum rather than using an external image hosting site, this means they will stay forever and not disappear after a year or two.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 13
  Print  
Author Topic: WaxBee project  (Read 92724 times)
Markos
New Poster
*
Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #90 on: October 29, 2012, 08:09:36 PM »

I first posted it in the UD1212R topic, but I can also post it here for other users

Can I also use one of these two ATMEGA32U4 boards?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Leonardo-Nano-Pro-Mini-ATmega32U4-Support-Arduino-IDE-1-0-1-Bootloader-Ready-/360492013744?pt=Vintage_Electronics_R2&hash=item53eeff98b0
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATMEGA32U4-Leonardo-Nano-Pro-Mini-Support-Arduino-IDE-1-0-1-With-Bootloader-/130784048638?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1e735635fe

These are cheaper for me (shipping is 10 dollar for the Teensy). Or are there even cheaper models I can use?
I guess only the ATMEGA32U4 chip is supported by Waxbee? Or also some other chips?


edit
Crosspost with the UD1212R topic: http://forum.bongofish.co.uk/index.php?topic=1930.msg17381#msg17381
« Last Edit: October 29, 2012, 11:46:29 PM by Markos » Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #91 on: October 29, 2012, 11:40:17 PM »

yes using any 16Mhz ATMEGA32U4 breakout board should work fine in theory.  The biggest difference is the bootloader.

Essentially, for non-Teensy boards, you will need to flash a .hex file (that WaxBee can generate) and use an external tool to flash it. I never tried it but the chances of working are very high.

(put a link in your other post to here)

EDIT: there is a glitch: Lots of these boards have a Bootloader which eats so much space (4K out of 32K) that WaxBee does not fit anymore.  The Teensy's bootloader only takes 512 bytes (0.5K). I was able to do a custom build for one person by disabling features he did not need, but this is not something I would recommend. (I cannot support these special builds).
« Last Edit: May 26, 2013, 03:11:40 AM by bernard » Logged
Markos
New Poster
*
Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #92 on: October 31, 2012, 01:07:40 AM »

The two eBay items above, is there any difference between them? Should I pick one over the other?

There is also this board which is only about 2 dollar more expensive. Is there any reason I would/could/should pick that one? It's also ATMEGA32U4
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATMEGA32U4-Leonardo-Support-Arduino-IDE-1-0-1-With-Header-Pin-/130792369683
Logged
klein
New Poster
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #93 on: November 07, 2012, 06:08:42 PM »

hi
i just found this last night, and this morning i looked at my wacom ud-1218-r will the soft ware work for this?  the board inside is the same as the ones posted in this forum on this subject i just don't see a ud-1218-r listed. the pcb is wacom pwb=a273-d and the chip is ud1218 14400 wacom
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #94 on: November 07, 2012, 07:13:16 PM »

It will definitely work. It was never tried I believe, so *if* there is a software quirk, we can work it out I am 100% positive.  Is this marked as a "Digitizer II"? 

I can provide a modified template from this one: "UD-1212-R to Intuos2 12x18.tmpl.txt". I will add it to the standard distribution. In the meantime, you can use the UD-1212-R-based templates.
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #95 on: November 07, 2012, 07:49:24 PM »

I believe "14400" is the ROM version number and that means your have a fairly recent one with tilt, higher speed and all that good stuff. It also means it should work right off the bat (software-wise).
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #96 on: November 08, 2012, 04:16:45 AM »

WaxBee version 0.12a is out:  Added a new template for the UD-1218-R -- Well, this is totally untested, but it has good chances of working.  Do not forget to tell us if it works!
Logged
klein
New Poster
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #97 on: November 08, 2012, 07:36:41 PM »

hi bernard
i'v already tested the UD-1218-R with external 5v and it checked good,  i have had problem with soldering on the smd pads i pulled #13 off so out comes the usb microscope and i found where the #13 and #15 go through to the back of the board there are little round pads in the traces #10 and #11 are the same way. so if you mess up you have a second chance.
     
i have ordered the Teensy just waiting on the mail.
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #98 on: November 08, 2012, 08:08:12 PM »

FYI, those little round pads with a hole in it to transfer the signal to other layers is called a "via". Vias are nice to solder to (if you happen to have tiny wires).
Logged
Markos
New Poster
*
Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #99 on: November 08, 2012, 10:08:47 PM »

I believe "14400" is the ROM version number and that means your have a fairly recent one with tilt, higher speed and all that good stuff. It also means it should work right off the bat (software-wise).
Were can you find that 14400? I got this one


Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #100 on: November 08, 2012, 10:58:46 PM »

It's on a white sticker on a chip inside the tablet.  Look at the last picture in that post:  (number is 15400 -- very pale, but the text talks about it).  http://forum.bongofish.co.uk/index.php?topic=1514.msg9925#msg9925

Note: the name "Digitizer II" is already a very good sign of a recent tablet.  I am not sure which version it is exactly, but it will work for sure.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2012, 11:03:14 PM by bernard » Logged
Sicarius
New Poster
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #101 on: November 09, 2012, 04:15:11 PM »

I'm actually using a UD-1218-R.  It works and I was using my own modified version of a UD-1212 template.

When I first got the tablet in 2007, it was a "Digitizer" not "Digitizer-II" with (if I remember) a 1.2 firmware.  It had no tilt sensing and a smaller pressure range.

Luckily, I was able to get an updated firmware from a Wacom rep on their forums but that was 1.42; I'm surprised to see that there's something newer.

Now, off to test the new Waxbee version.
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #102 on: November 10, 2012, 03:03:08 AM »

for ud-1218-r models there may not be more recent ROM version.

I am extremely interested in getting a copy of this firmware. We have been searching for recent ROM for the 1218 version! I'll contact you through a PM to avoid copyright issues.

If you can try with the one I released just to see if it works (for others). Thanks!
Logged
Sicarius
New Poster
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #103 on: November 10, 2012, 06:55:18 AM »

for ud-1218-r models there may not be more recent ROM version.

Well, the poster upthread said they had something labeled 14400; whether that's the ROM version or not, I don't know.

Quote
I am extremely interested in getting a copy of this firmware. We have been searching for recent ROM for the 1218 version! I'll contact you through a PM to avoid copyright issues.

Any time, just let me know.  I was very grateful to Wacom for giving it to me; it doubled the resolution, doubled pressure sensitivity, added tilt sensing and eraser sensing.  Basically a full upgrade from a Digitizer to a Digitizer II.  All I needed was to have the good folks at hobbyroms.com flash it onto an EPROM for me and I was good to go.

Quote
If you can try with the one I released just to see if it works (for others). Thanks!

Works just fine.  Our two templates are almost exactly the same.

Did you ever do anything for the button bars on the UD series?
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #104 on: November 10, 2012, 02:55:46 PM »

Button bar: Good question. I had done serious work to emulate them by moving the pointer to a specific tablet location in the XD-1218-U tablet, but I never finished this. Is this something you would like to have (I mean, a lot)? I know Wacom "dropped" those features in more recent tablets (usability reasons I think). People appear to like the hard buttons and dials better because they do not need to start looking at the tablet to aim for a button and also do not need to move the pen away from the work area.

Speaking of more recent tablets, the Intuos2 is not longer supported in recent drivers it seems. In particular, for Windows 8, I do not see a Intuos2 driver. Sad  That means we will have to emulate a more recent Intuos (if I ever find a good soul that owns a recent Intuos and dumps the USB packets for me) to be able to run on Windows 8 (unless the old driver "just works" in Windows Cool.

If we start emulating more recent tablets (like an intuos 4), we would no longer have the top bar buttons to "emulate to".

The chances that it is the ROM number is not neglegible. When you open the tablet, this white sticker jumps into your face, so I am not surprised it is reported by people. I have seen exactly this number "14400" a few times written this way (no dots) on UD-1212-Rs -- it is located on a white sticker on the ROM chip and it perfectly matches the number you see when you query the tablet on the serial port.  I my case, the tablet serial port returns the string:   1.5-4  (for 15400).

Very good idea to have someone program you an EEPROM and send it to you!  I was not sure how to tell someone with no programmer to re-program their UDs. Smiley
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 13
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!