Bongofish
December 09, 2019, 01:52:16 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Some inane questions from a total newb  (Read 1743 times)
MizBlackCrow
New Poster

View Profile
« on: June 24, 2012, 04:33:11 AM »

Hi everyone! I'm Miz Black Crow, I'm new, and I'm an idiot. (These things are important to know. The last more than the first two.)

I am the (not very) proud owner of an Intuos 3 A5 size (not the A5 Wide, apparently) PZT-630 , and a dead old HP Mini 1030NR (10.1", LED, WSVGA, glass NOT matte, 1024x753). While the body of the laptop is dead--for the stupidest reason ever, mainly that the charge port won't actually hold on to the cable and therefore will not charge--all hope isn't lost. Because I loves me some drawing, and I hate drawing on a Wacom, because the cognitive dissonance required for drawing in one place and looking at another is breaking my head.

Hence why my Wacom has been sitting unloved in a corner, and I lost the pen a long time ago. (Sidebar: Anybody have a spare pen for the Intuos 3 they'd like to sell cheap?)

So. A few (inane, probably-answered-and-i-just-didn't-get-it) questions.

• Other than the basic components (pen, wacom, screen, scalpel, soldering iron, Dremel/file), WHAT do I need to make this work?
  • What in the hell is a controller, do I need one, and how do I know I'm getting the one I need?
  • What in the hell is an inverter, do I need one (I remember seeing something about LED screens not requiring one?), and how do I know I'm getting the one I need?
  • Is it actually possible just to sit a screen on top of a wacom, duct-tape it in place, connect it to a computer (drivers permitting) and have that *work*? If not, what do you have to do in addition?