Bongofish
October 22, 2019, 08:53:54 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11 ... 14
  Print  
Author Topic: Experimenting with the HP 2710p Tablet PC digitizer (SU-12W18A-01X)  (Read 99736 times)
ThrowingChicken
Full Member
***
Posts: 112



View Profile WWW
« Reply #120 on: August 30, 2013, 04:34:45 PM »




Left to my own devices I'd presume that little white dot on the connector is supposed to line up with that white arrow-ish shape, but I hate to make assumptions. 


Hopefully that is right.  I could flip it and probably get it in the other way, though this direction went in first.  The red line is going towards the right side of this plug. 
Logged
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1069


View Profile
« Reply #121 on: August 30, 2013, 04:48:55 PM »

Yep, id have to agree, white dot equals pin1.

from the blurry shot of the connector it appears that having the connector the wrong way around will not do anything anyway, as half of the connector is empty.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2013, 04:55:46 PM by Aerendraca » Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #122 on: August 30, 2013, 06:50:37 PM »

yes:  they have a white dot and there is a white triangle.

As an added thing, you try to follow the "power" ---  it is easy to spot on the flex cable connector : it uses many large traces.
Logged
ThrowingChicken
Full Member
***
Posts: 112



View Profile WWW
« Reply #123 on: August 30, 2013, 11:15:31 PM »

There are three red wires, with the ribbon connector plugged in as show, two go to the right and one goes somewhere towards the left.  Seems right, I won't know for sure until tomorrow, but if it's wrong I hope it doesn't do any damage. 

In the meantime, I picked up an Intuos 3 off of eBay for $100.  I might be addicted to this tablet modification stuff now. With any luck I'll have it converted into a Cintiq some day too.  Here it is next to the Graphire II I have been using since 2005.
Logged
thp777
Full Member
***
Posts: 119


View Profile
« Reply #124 on: August 31, 2013, 12:57:19 AM »

ya that is the right direction. I have the same board.
Logged
ThrowingChicken
Full Member
***
Posts: 112



View Profile WWW
« Reply #125 on: August 31, 2013, 05:41:01 PM »

So I got it powered up, but I'm just getting a dark screen with vertical lines.
Logged
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1069


View Profile
« Reply #126 on: August 31, 2013, 06:09:13 PM »

Hmm, not sure, any pictures?
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #127 on: August 31, 2013, 07:15:21 PM »

Can you bring up the OSD?  (The menu from the controller)

Yeah a picture would be great. So if you get vertical lines Does that mean the backlit is fine?
Logged
ThrowingChicken
Full Member
***
Posts: 112



View Profile WWW
« Reply #128 on: August 31, 2013, 07:28:31 PM »

It's too faint to photograph, so here is a mock up of what it looks like, give or take.



No OSD. 
Logged
ThrowingChicken
Full Member
***
Posts: 112



View Profile WWW
« Reply #129 on: September 01, 2013, 01:18:27 AM »

Actually, the lines only show up when an image is on display.  So if I disconnect the video and exit the OSD, the screen is black (but backlight is on), when I press the menu button, or try to connect to the PC I get the lines.
Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #130 on: September 01, 2013, 03:08:30 AM »

Did you ever saw this lcd working before?
Logged
ThrowingChicken
Full Member
***
Posts: 112



View Profile WWW
« Reply #131 on: September 01, 2013, 03:29:23 AM »

Yes it worked fine.
Logged
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1069


View Profile
« Reply #132 on: September 01, 2013, 11:40:10 AM »

Can we see a picture of the whole thing wired as you have it currently? I mean the tft, the lvds, and the power module for the backlight.
Logged
ThrowingChicken
Full Member
***
Posts: 112



View Profile WWW
« Reply #133 on: September 01, 2013, 05:38:27 PM »

Sure, not a lot to see though.  It' just one cable.

Logged
bernard
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2590


pato mania


View Profile
« Reply #134 on: September 01, 2013, 06:11:00 PM »

Difficult to diagnose I must say. If the LCD works, then the most probable thing is a bad programming.   Tongue   They do not have your LCD in hand to testify that it works before shipping it to you.  One option is to buy their programmer and do it yourself or send out your precious LCD so they do it.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11 ... 14
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!