Bongofish
December 16, 2019, 04:22:58 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: General question about shielding  (Read 4136 times)
doghateburger
New Poster

View Profile
« on: November 23, 2013, 08:29:29 AM »

Hey guys, so my screen finally arrive today and I'm about to start building my DIY Cintiq (base using the K-Jintiq)

I just have some general questions regarding shielding the wires and grounding, etc. I'm not very good with this stuff, and I really dont want any circuits to be burning when I turn this thing on. Soo... yeah, any help would be awesome! Cheesy

Questions!
1) Is there anything placed between the screen and the actually wacom tech board? I was thinking of placing some sheets of paper, will that do?

2) Is shielding general referring to separating the individual wires to prevent interference from one and another? Will using aluminium wrap (typically for food) work? What wires should I be shielding and more careful with.

3) Grounding, if I'm not mistaken is when we make sure the wires and electricity are connected to some sort of non conductive material that is touching the ground? Please clarify if I'm wrong.

I'll probably have more questions as I start working on this, but for now, if anyone could help me clarify these points, I would greatly appreciate it!
Aerendraca
Administrator

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2013, 01:55:30 PM »

Hi Doghateburger (interesting name by the way),

Let's address your questions one at a time.