test1
September 20, 2017, 06:38:17 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can attach photos hosted by the forum rather than using an external image hosting site, this means they will stay forever and not disappear after a year or two.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: SU-13W02E-03A connectin issues  (Read 3977 times)
NickelPlant
New Poster
*
Posts: 8


KCCO


View Profile
« on: July 28, 2014, 09:57:56 PM »

 Hi  Cheesy

I need some help with my first tablet build and I thought all you smart people would be the ones to ask! Got my 03A spliced to a usb cable with a 3.3 v regulator (http://www.ebay.com/itm/400341720627?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649) but no dice.

I can get my pc to recognize it as a usb device but it says my device malfunctioned. I saw were Alexevangelou fixed a similar problem by switching his D+ ,D- signal wires, I tried the same thing but it didn't help.

 I did continuity tests and every pin on the 03A board had a good connection to its corresponding usb wire except the 5v. Both sides (the 5v and 3.3v) test positive down the wire until the regulator then they test negative afterwards. I tried a different regulator(bought a few just in case) with no change.

The regulator seems to be getting power and for my pc to recognize the 03A at all wouldn't it's board need power? I am getting 3.2 v on pin 13 according to my multi meter so it is getting some juice. Also for reference I am using pin 1 gnd, 3 D+, 4 D-, 13 3.3v

any tips or advice would be very much appreciated, thanks for the help

 
« Last Edit: July 28, 2014, 10:07:43 PM by NickelPlant » Logged
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1067


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2014, 10:16:29 PM »

It would be good to see some pictures of what you have and how you have things wired to make a proper assessment as it's hard to picture what you have. This could be a case that the USB does not have sufficient current draw to know to do something, but we can address this later if need be.
Logged
NickelPlant
New Poster
*
Posts: 8


KCCO


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2014, 12:28:36 AM »

Sorry for not being more detailed in my description

here are the pictures


* IMAG0520.jpg (27.31 KB, 400x668 - viewed 258 times.)

* IMAG0521.jpg (39.24 KB, 400x668 - viewed 256 times.)

* IMAG0522.jpg (22.66 KB, 400x668 - viewed 253 times.)

* IMAG0523.jpg (38.69 KB, 400x668 - viewed 241 times.)

* IMAG0524.jpg (28.54 KB, 400x668 - viewed 246 times.)
Logged
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1067


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2014, 06:37:19 AM »

Ok so it seems you have the voltage regulator setup correctly since you're getting a lit LED which is good. As for which pins you have power and data connected to on the wacom, this is a little unclear. From a former thread regarding the same board I found:

 
Quote
Hey bernard,

This project has creeped back into my interests.  How accurate is the pin chart listed above?  Are you saying you connected pins 1(GND), 3(D+), 4(D-), and 13(3.3v)?  Also looking at the teensy now.  If the 3.3v regulator was added to it, would that essentially make this plug and play?

Bernard appears to have confirmed this pinout and that he got it working via USB. Have you wired the wacom as per this pinout?
Logged
NickelPlant
New Poster
*
Posts: 8


KCCO


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2014, 04:05:58 PM »

that's the thread I got my pinout from yes

I just double checked and I do have it wired correctly pins 1,3,4, and 13 just like bernard suggested
Logged
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1067


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2014, 04:22:43 PM »

Hmm. Did you also try pulling pin 12 to ground? I noticed in the wiki that this is suggested to be the enable pin - although it was also mentioned that the enable pin might not be necessary, I say give it a try.

I think some closeups of the writing on the circuit board might help to give us a bit more of a clue. I haven't tried modding one of these myself but I would think we can work this out.
Logged
NickelPlant
New Poster
*
Posts: 8


KCCO


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2014, 07:14:04 PM »

Thanks for all the help!

I pulled pin 12 but nothing changed

Here are the pics and there are more close up pics at the beginning of the thread you quoted earlier

Quote
I tried prying the chip from the board but chickened out when it gave good resistance.  Pics follow.
 




* IMAG0537.jpg (24.03 KB, 400x240 - viewed 242 times.)

* IMAG0538.jpg (24.58 KB, 400x240 - viewed 238 times.)

* IMAG0539.jpg (22.75 KB, 400x240 - viewed 234 times.)
Logged
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1067


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2014, 08:15:17 AM »

I'm not sure if you understood what I meant. Pulling pin 12 to ground means connecting a wire from pin 12 to GND (or pin 1 as per the pinout above); don't try and pull these chips off the board, they're surface mounted and you will break the pcb if you're successful in doing so.

I'll take a closer look at the pcb traces when I get some time later today, but really what we could do with is a veteran of the forums popping back with some assistance. You might try sending a private message to Bernard and see if he responds, after all he is an admin on the boards and one of the original members to get this screen working with USB.

Logged
NickelPlant
New Poster
*
Posts: 8


KCCO


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2014, 03:45:32 PM »

haha I didn't pry or break anything , I just used that quote to help show where the other pics are(I assume that quote is what confused you)

and I think you are right , I'll message Bernard
Logged
NickelPlant
New Poster
*
Posts: 8


KCCO


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2014, 08:25:40 PM »

Quote
This could be a case that the USB does not have sufficient current draw to know to do something, but we can address this later if need be.

finally got around to testing this and my digitizer is drawing the 100ma you would expect

also soldered pin 3,4 directly to the usb, I was using some 24awg wire to extended them out from the serial cable but thought maybe that size difference in the wire was the issue this resulted in no change still not functioning   

no matter what I do it still says "usb device not functioning"  Embarrassed
« Last Edit: August 07, 2014, 08:37:42 PM by NickelPlant » Logged
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1067


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2014, 10:02:40 PM »

Did Bernard get back to you?
Logged
NickelPlant
New Poster
*
Posts: 8


KCCO


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2014, 11:05:41 PM »

not yet.... I might try messaging him again my message probably got lost in the fray I bet he gets a dozen pm's every day from people like me trying to diagnose faulty digitizers

in the meantime i'll keep tinkering , eventually im bond to find the obvious mistake I made   Grin
« Last Edit: August 07, 2014, 11:07:49 PM by NickelPlant » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!