Bongofish
April 18, 2019, 08:28:50 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
Author Topic: The Slatiq Project - or "please help an idiot with a soldering iron"  (Read 15969 times)
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1069


View Profile
« Reply #45 on: February 23, 2015, 01:29:15 PM »

Because we are talking about data lines I suppose it could have an affect. Join the pins 2 and 14 and see if it makes a difference.

At least we can be sure now that your are powering it with the correct voltage. Did the digitizer work before you took it all apart?
Logged
brunobarbosa
New Poster
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #46 on: February 23, 2015, 02:36:20 PM »

It's hard to be 100% sure; it was working when the computer malfunctioned, and the technicians said the issue was with the mb, so I assume that it is working properly, although it is difficult to know for sure. Will test with both ground wires later in the evening and report back then.
Logged
XDjackieXD
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 137


*me trying to draw*


View Profile WWW
« Reply #47 on: February 23, 2015, 09:08:54 PM »

In Ubuntu you could open a terminal and type 'dmesg' right after plugging in the digitizer. then you can get some more debugging information.

-Jakob
Logged
brunobarbosa
New Poster
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #48 on: February 24, 2015, 02:14:57 AM »

thanks for the tip jakob.

this is what i got:

* report.txt (27.81 KB - downloaded 191 times.)


can you see anything helpful in here? All i could think of was to try and find the vendor id for Wacom, but it does not show up on that report.

Aerendraca, connecting pins 2 and 14 produced the same effect.

* report.txt (27.81 KB - downloaded 191 times.)
Logged
XDjackieXD
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 137


*me trying to draw*


View Profile WWW
« Reply #49 on: February 24, 2015, 08:02:01 AM »

It looks like either not d+ and d- swapped or a to long or defective USB cable.
I had the same effect when using a 1m USB extension cable with one of my digitizers.
A USB hub in between or directly plugging it into your PC could help.

-Jakob
Logged
Aerendraca
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1069


View Profile
« Reply #50 on: March 06, 2015, 05:30:38 PM »

I was looking at the wiki pages and saw that there is some information that pin 12 may need to be connected to ground in some cases to enable the digitizer. See the pinout table: http://wiki.bongofish.co.uk/doku.php?id=bongofish:penenabled

It would appear to suggest that PLTRS1 is active low enable, ie pin 12 should be 0V to enable the digitizer. Worth a go, it shouldn't do any damage.

Logged
brunobarbosa
New Poster
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #51 on: March 29, 2015, 07:28:48 PM »

Hey guys, just to keep you up to date: the projecto hasn't been forgotten, I've just been having a very busy few weeks! Hopefully I'll be able to give it a try in the next couple of days and see how it responds. Thanks all for your help!
Logged
mike-s
New Poster
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #52 on: February 09, 2017, 07:32:55 AM »

I know it's a bit of a grave dig here, but I'm wondering if brunobarbosa had any further luck with this as I've got one of these panels and am thinking about ways i can use it myself.
Logged
brunobarbosa
New Poster
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #53 on: March 27, 2019, 12:46:22 AM »

Hi guys!

After having been gone for about 4 years (almost exactly to the day, wow) for the proverbial pack of cigarettes, i was doing some cleanup around the house and found all these parts again and thought i should give it a shot, before i threw them away.

You won't believe what happened - it worked!

I didn't have the usb cable i had used originally and i think that could in part be the problem - i had to use a new one.

I re-read the thread, followed Aerendraca's tips (i still had the 3.3v stepdown curcuit that Aerendraca showed me how to make), and then plugged it in and it just worked!

I'm running a newer laptop now with windows 10, and as soon as i plugged in the digitizer, the windows ink workspace icon showed up on the tray and it just worked!!

Thanks everyone and especially Aerendraca for the help for all these years, and now the project is revived!

I just have to figure out now if i can get the touch controller to work and see if i can find a converter for the screen!
Logged
DaBotz
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 243



View Profile WWW
« Reply #54 on: April 03, 2019, 06:32:59 PM »

Yeeeeahhh!!!

Nice to hear such a joyous news.

In effect, changing USB cables/ports should be put among the troubleshooting first tips for all builds.

I used to think that they were pretty sturdy/foolproof  (either work or not), but over time I had to concede that they can be as temperamental as any other cable/connection, digital or analogue this  may be, and you confirmed it once more.  

Thanks for updating the thread.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2019, 06:47:59 PM by DaBotz » Logged

The most incredible artist of... Barbanza?
brunobarbosa
New Poster
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #55 on: April 05, 2019, 12:14:49 AM »

thanks!

One other recent update, that i found might be useful if someone ends up here - it does not work on all usb ports on my laptop! It seems to only work on the USB 2.0 ports.

I have put on order a driver board for the screen, should be here in a couple of weeks. will update with more details when i get it!
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!