test1
March 30, 2017, 05:49:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
  Print  
Author Topic: Finally Ready; A Newbie Build for a Newbie Maker - Syntic  (Read 7245 times)
comfychair

View Profile
« on: October 15, 2015, 06:10:21 PM »

Greetings Bongofish

I'm really excited about this build and its been a lot of fun so far. Fun and Hard.

Seeing as how I'm new to Making, I'm starting slow and doing a "Sandwich Build" first. The original inspiration came from TabletMod.com

Here is the equipment:

Intuous4 PTK-840
LP154WE3
VS-TY2662-V1 (controller)
A re-purposed cd-rom enclosure and brass stand-offs (to mount the controller)

As for the build log, there is not much to say. I had to strip the aluminium off the back of the display, and am using electrical tape to hold the display together.

* screen1.jpg (143.02 KB. 1288x724 - viewed 368 times.)

* screen2.jpg (117.67 KB. 1288x724 - viewed 326 times.)

On the first test, I got the usual jitters and false clicks, nothing too serious. One problem I did have earlier was the read height of the pen was greatly diminished.

The TCon board is at the bottom of the screen (pictured below), I covered it in plastic and wrapped in in copper tape to help with both of those. (It did Cheesy)

* tcon.jpg (153.39 KB. 1288x724 - viewed 297 times.)

* tcon2.jpg (120.75 KB. 1288x724 - viewed 272 times.)

* tcon3.jpg (117.48 KB. 1288x724 - viewed 271 times.)

You will notice that there is copper around the screw mounting holes on the Tcon board. (so these are grounding points?)

Here is the controller:

* controller.jpg (148.24 KB. 1288x724 - viewed 318 times.)

Initially I'm getting very good results. Except for the false clicks! They are everywhere and random.