Bongofish
September 16, 2019, 02:08:57 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You may have to login twice the first time,  but we don't know why - Erm I mean it's a security thing yeah that's it - security.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Success ** greenuns' build log  (Read 24532 times)
greenuns
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 50


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: April 29, 2007, 11:54:10 PM »

so any wire will do?
is there a specific gauge? ohms? volts?
do I have to solder the wires? or is it just a twist and turn with tape job?
sorry, i just have no clue with these things....
Logged
Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2007, 02:24:36 AM »

I beg to differ chem (NO S lol)

You are the one that is going insane, he said from main board to INVERTER,

you are not supposed to do that
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
greenuns
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 50


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: April 30, 2007, 04:21:28 AM »

sorry lads, i should've been more specific. that cable connects

this


to this




or should extend this cable?
Logged
Chems
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 675

He Who Dares Draws on a DIY Cintiq


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: April 30, 2007, 11:43:43 AM »

Yeah Ive just read your other reply. Make sense what your saying, about small power across that little cable.

I extended my Main Board to Inverter Cable and it worked fine.


Im not sure anymore now, best listen to switz as you guys have the same monitor.
Logged

greenuns
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 50


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2007, 08:57:11 PM »

so should I extend the CCFL wires?
and is the top most image the inverter?
Logged
Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: April 30, 2007, 11:12:09 PM »

I would say extend the ccfl wires because that seems to have worked twice now
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
Chems
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 675

He Who Dares Draws on a DIY Cintiq


View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: May 01, 2007, 11:00:23 AM »

If this works I may extend my CCFC wires as it will make the back of my build tidier.
Logged

Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: May 01, 2007, 01:11:52 PM »

The "it doesn't work" thing is something I heard second hand,  and seems to be incorrect.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
greenuns
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 50


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: May 01, 2007, 08:12:06 PM »

ok, i'll try it out.
the way my build is that I would need to extend that cable so that it becomes at least 8 to 10 inches..
I hope that doesn't kill the screen...
then back to the type of wire question,
Any wire will do? and is it a twist and turn job? no soldering?
Logged
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: May 01, 2007, 09:51:46 PM »

For the ccfl wire I would recommend at least use a connection block (terminal block) like bubbaflamm used for his LED strip.  being as it's high voltage I'd be very wary of relying on a twist n tape job.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
bubbaflamm
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 174

Living Life at Random


View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: May 01, 2007, 10:17:07 PM »

the terminal block can be easily cut down to the number of terminals you want, too.  so if you only needed 2, you wouldn't need to make room for a whole block of 12.
I can't tell from the pics (slightly blurry pics combined with even more blurry eyes.  I've needed to visit the eye doctor for too long), and i'm not sure which wire it was decided was teh one to extend,  but i have successfully transplaneted in new wires on many occasions.  you may be able to simply remove the wires that are there and put in longer un-spliced ones.  if it can be done, that would probably be the best solution.
Logged
Chems
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 675

He Who Dares Draws on a DIY Cintiq


View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: May 01, 2007, 10:58:19 PM »

I will wait for you to take the point on this one greenus. If it goes ok I will be replacing my extended Main Board to inverter wire for 2 extended CCFC wires.
Logged

greenuns
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 50


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: May 02, 2007, 08:35:05 PM »

hey guys,
thanks for all the great help.
I have one deadline to make, which is due tomorrow and after that I'm gonna go cintiq!
Drew, the terminal blocks look great, I didn't even know they existed...thanks, I'll be getting those..
I typed the serial number on the wire in google and I think these are the actual wires.
http://cn.100y.com.tw/PNoInfo/14542.htm

but seems like it's in taiwan..I'm gonna see if any of my chinese friends can translate this
but if anyone speaks mandarin could you check to see if there's any spec?
thanks
Logged
bubbaflamm
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 174

Living Life at Random


View Profile WWW
« Reply #28 on: May 02, 2007, 08:54:35 PM »

 try this.  i think it's the english translation

http://us.100y.com.tw/ChanPin.asp?MNo=14542
Logged
Chems
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 675

He Who Dares Draws on a DIY Cintiq


View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: May 02, 2007, 09:40:35 PM »

That is the main problem, what sort of wire to use. I suggest just a bit of high voltage normal wire.
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!