Bongofish
August 18, 2019, 12:51:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can attach photos hosted by the forum rather than using an external image hosting site, this means they will stay forever and not disappear after a year or two.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Selling custom builds?  (Read 10959 times)
Bob Rivard
New Poster

View Profile WWW
« on: April 18, 2007, 11:52:03 PM »

I'm sure it's crossed the minds of many here, but I'm really interested in what some of you may charge to build a DIY cintiq for somebody else.

I've been browsing through a lot of the build logs, really admiring some of the work... especially Chems', the Samtiq, Drew's and so on.

I'm considering building one of my own, but I'm not too experienced with this sort of thing and I'm also not sure I could devote the time to it either. I do like to tinker around, but still not sure if I wanna risk it.

Now, I'm not 100% set on the idea of getting somebody else to do it for me, but I would like to get an idea of what it might cost, then weigh my options. So to those that have been successful and relatively time efficient with their builds, what would you charge?

I see it happening like this:

-We'd consult, determine the necessary parts and costs
-I'd pay a deposit/percentage of full price (25% ?)
   -Hold money in escrow?
-You show me it's finished and working
-I pay remaining balance and shipping costs

I know the e-bay purchasing is really the only tricky part. I don't think I'd feel comfortable buying all the parts myself and having them shipped to the builder. I'd rather find somebody that's comfortable taking a deposit and paying for the parts on their own, knowing they'd be reimbursed later on. I think there's less of a risk for the builder.

Anyway... if anyone wants to shoot a few numbers at me, you can post them here, get me on AIM or MSN or PM me... whatever works.