Bongofish
December 07, 2019, 11:08:58 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: You can attach photos hosted by the forum rather than using an external image hosting site, this means they will stay forever and not disappear after a year or two.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: udconfig and DOS  (Read 10230 times)
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« on: December 22, 2006, 07:01:08 PM »

It has been noted that the UD tablet configuration tool UDCONFIG runs in an unhelpful manner under XP command prompt, and should really be run from DOS,  So I figured, seeing as a hard-drive isn't necessary to test the tablet, it could equally well be run from a DOS boot disk, with the UDCONFIG tool on it.

I'll give it a try and report back, assuming my floppy drive hasn't siezed due to lack of use.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2006, 11:18:53 PM »

Well that worked like a charm.
I used a Dos 6.22 boot disk, I had to remove a few of the commands to fit UD config onto the floppy so I removed scandisk and format and a couple of CDROM drivers I wasn't going to use.

Booted using the floppy and ran UDCONFIG. 

It's worth doing this using two machines so you can leave one in DOS mode and the other in XP, that way you can switch the tablet over to try stuff out without having to reboot every time.  Makes it easier to try one thing at a time.     

I cranked the baud rate up from 9600 to 19200 and set the "transmission rate" to max.  nothing else I tried seemed to make a noticable difference. There's a bunch of obscure sounding settings in there that I don't really want to mess with too much.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
MrSlippy
New Poster
*
Posts: 27


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2006, 04:08:45 PM »

waaa...i dont have a floppy disk tho....any more detailed descriptions about what i could do to boot into dos?
Logged
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2006, 05:05:59 PM »

without a floppy?
errrrmmmm. borrow one? Wink
Or do you mean no drive?
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
MrSlippy
New Poster
*
Posts: 27


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2006, 06:15:23 PM »

lol, im sorry, yes, i mean, no floppy drive
a bit frazzled here Tongue Yes, booting into dos with a cd...and no, I dont have the windows XP disk...errrrm...i...lost it....yes, thats what happened...lost...
Logged
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2006, 08:24:53 PM »

http://nightowl.radified.com/bootcd/bootcdintro.html

in the bit where you drag in the files you need (the dos commands), include udconfig.exe as well.
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
bubbaflamm
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 174

Living Life at Random


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2007, 11:47:58 PM »

you wouldn't by chance be able to share a zip of your floppy would you?  I'm not to that point, but it would make things a bit easier when i am.
Logged
Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2007, 11:56:13 PM »

How can you do it on a zip disk? not a floppy, a zip.
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
bubbaflamm
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 174

Living Life at Random


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2007, 08:25:10 AM »

a *.zip file that we could expand onto our own floppy
Logged
Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2007, 02:13:31 AM »

nonononono

not a .zip

A zip DISK
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
bubbaflamm
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 174

Living Life at Random


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2007, 07:46:53 PM »

switz, i think you and i may be asking two differant things.  I'm asking for a copy of the bootable floppy with UD config on it.
Logged
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2007, 11:12:58 PM »

still looking
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
Switz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1163


S W I N T I Q If it aint broke, MAKE IT BETTER!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2007, 11:27:17 PM »

Ohh, I thought you were saying that I could boot up from a zip file. lol

Anyone know if you can from a zip?
Logged


Made that, not my best, but I love it.  Firefoxy lol
It's all fun and games till someone loses a testicle.   Cheesy
tba
New Poster
*
Posts: 21


Oppressing since 2006


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2007, 01:04:55 PM »

No ZIP drives are not bootable devices as far as I know.
Logged


"I'm here to solve a murder" - Muhammad 2006
Drewid
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2290


wielder of electric crayons


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2007, 09:14:22 PM »

I'll stick this in here as well.
UD config to fit on a bootable floppy.  There's probably stuff you don't need in there.   I just removed things till it fitted.

www.bongofish.co.uk/HostDump/UDconfig_floppy.zip
Logged

Games work site:  Drewnorthcott.co.uk
Personal site: Bongofish.co.uk
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!